Saturday, August 13, 2011

Our new site has been moved to:
See you there!

Monday, June 20, 2011

New Website

Hey everyone, it's GR2 from Green Ring Game Review. In preparation for the new move I'm about to make, I've decided to go for an easier, catchier site handle, the "Lazy Ass Gamer". I will discontinue my GR2 blog in favor of working on it in the future.

Click here to visit Lazy Ass Gamer

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

L.A Noire on Sale at Amazon and is selling L.A Noire for only $39.99 for both Xbox 360 and PS3, which includes free shipping.

L.A Noire for Xbox - $39.99
L.A Noire for PS3 - $39.99


If you don't like Amazon for whatever reason, is selling L.A Noire for only $44.44

L.A Noire for PS3 - $44.44

And you can also check out's "Dad and Grads" sale, which includes huge discounts on games such as:

Halo Reach
Halo Reach
Now: $24.96
Was: $35.03 (53% off)

Just Cause 2
Xbox - Just Cause 2
PS3 - Just Cause 2
Now: $18.99
Was: $29.99 (37% off)

Portal 2
Xbox 360 - Portal 2
PS3 - Portal 2 ($39.96)
Now: $38.99
Was: $59.99 (33% off)

Mortal KombatXbox 360 - Mortal Kombat
PS3 - Mortal Kombat
Now: $39.99
Was: $59.99 (33% off)

The Sims 3Xbox 360 - The Sims 3
Now: $19.99
Was: $39.99 (50% off)

And much more. Grab these titles for cheap while you can! The full list can be seen here:

---------------GR GR---------------

Thursday, June 9, 2011

New Prototype 2 Trailer

Prototype 2
Developer: Radical Entertainment
Publisher: Activision
Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, Windows
Release date: Some time in 2012

New York City, stylized NYZ, has been divided into three regions. Each region stands for how affected New York City is by the Blacklight Virus, with the red zone standing for the most infected. James Heller will have missions in each zone and each mission's difficulty will depend on which zone it takes place in. 
As stated by Radical Entertainment, Prototype 2 uses a new protagonist, Sergeant James Heller, and takes place 14 months after the original. James had returned to the tattered New York City from the war in Afghanistan to find that his wife and daughter were dead due to Alex Mercer accidentally releasing the virus when questioning Elizabeth Greene. This damages Heller emotionally, who then goes out on military's most dangerous missions, succeeding each time out of his rage, despite hoping to die. Unknown by Heller, he is being watched by Alex Mercer who has taken an interest in him. Alex Mercer is now the ruler of New York City despite having become a ghost, only being seen on rare occasions. During one mission, Heller succeeds in completing the mission but is mortally wounded and appears to be getting everything he wanted, but Alex Mercer shows up. Alex then infects him with the Blacklight Virus, turning Heller into a creature like Alex. For unknown reasons, Alex is now spreading the virus despite previously trying to stop it. Heller then goes on to tap into the Blacknet System to decide where to try and strike Alex, as he believes Alex to be behind the mutants (though it was actually Elizabeth Greene). As stated by Radical, the Heller vs. Mercer revenge story is the game's A-Plot and there is to be a more complex and multithreaded B-Plot.

Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Microsofts Pre-E3 Conference

Microsoft has announced in its Pre-E3 conference a slew of updates coming to the xbox 360 this year. below is list of the ones im looking forward to the most

New Xbox 360 UI
The Xbox 360 user interface is getting a face lift. The New Xbox Experience 2.0 will closely resemble the interface of their Windows Phone 7 Mobile. Instead of the blades or windows, it'll have updating tiles, or widgets, that will show you everything on one screen or tab, as opposed to having everything segregated into different categories. With the new interface, will come new notifications. Details haven't been made clear on the change of the notifications though, other than that they will be called "beacons".

YouTube App
Also with the update will come a new Youtube app. Finally. Granted, I don't need YouTube very often, and I think it would be easier to use on the computer, I welcome this new update just for convenience sake. It'll be nice not having to boot up a computer just to check a 30 second clip on YouTube. The Kinect will also get a functionality ugrade and will finally be able to recognize and obey voice commands for searches. Also with all that, the voice will work seamlessly with the new, tweaked Bing search engine, which will be able to search your music, movies, apps and games.  

MineCraft For Xbox 360
To mixed reviews, Microsoft announced that they will be releasing "MineCraft" for the Xbox 360 as an Xbox Live Arcade download. In that same announcement they also talked of how the game will not be a direct port of Minecraft for the PC, and it will not be developed by Mojang. There is also talk of some Kinect integration, but it wasn't clear what was meant by that. Its hard to say what features will be lacking, or added, for the Xbox 360 client. Either way, I'm sure this will be a hit. This is scheduled to be released in the Winter of 2011

UFC Streaming
UFC is a good money grabber, and Microsoft plans on capitalizing on that by offering streaming of the UFC fights. I can't say im the biggest fan, and I dont see a reason to eat up my bandwidth when I can watch it in high def on my reciever. Unless they offer a large discount to offset the bandwidth, or they upload a library of all prior UFC fights, I'll leave this as being hopefully optimistic about this service.

Cloud Storage for Saves and Profiles
In saving the best for last, Microsoft announced that they will offering a cloud based storage service for Xbox Live profiles and game saves. That's right, no more waiting 70 minutes to recover your profile, no more forgetting your saves and profile on your memory stick at your house on the other side of town, and no more dropping your memory card and running it over on your way out to play Modern Warfare 2 at your friends house and losing every save. Ever. There weren't too many details on whether this is going to be an Xbox Live Gold membership exclusive (and im sure this going to be the case) or the whether they'll offer it to silver members as well. In my perfect vision of it, the cloud based storage will allow you to have two congruent saves, one physical, and one on the cloud, in case there is ever an internet outage. 

Monday, May 30, 2011

Gamevil Android and iOS Sale

For a limited time, Gamevil, the makers of Zenonia, have put all their iOS and Android Marketplace games on sale for 80% off (from $4.99 originally, to $0.99). Having played the original Zenonia, I would recommend you grab these games as soon as possible, because I don't think that the deals will be lasting long at this price. Links below for Android Marketplace. Click the following for the full list of Gamevil Android Games and  iTunes iOS Games.


1 - Click here for Zenonia ($0.99)
2 - Click here for Illusia ($0.99)
3 - Click here for Zenonia 2 ($0.99)

Saturday, May 28, 2011

Monster Hunter Portable 3rd for PS3

Being a long time Monster Hunter fan, I was absolutely filled with nerd joy when I heard about the recent HD Remakes of PSP hit titles. Sony plans on releasing a series of remade, hi def, and polished games exclusively for the PS3, starting with Monster Hunter Portable 3rd HD Ver.The press release states:

"Sony Computer Entertainment Inc. (SCEI) today announced that a new "PSP® (PlayStation®Portable) Remaster" title series, PSP titles customized and developed specifically for the PS3 computer entertainment system, will become available as Blue ray Disc™ games starting in the Japanese market.

"PSP Remaster" titles will deliver rich and immersive gaming experience on the PS3 system through stunning high-definition graphics as well as through additional new features for these titles, such as operability on the PS3 Wireless Controller (SIXAXIS® and DUALSHOCK®3), new add-on content or stereoscopic 3D support*1. Users will also be able to utilize the same save data from the original PSP game for the "PSP Remaster" version and enjoy the game on the go with the PSP system and continue the game at home on a large TV screen using PS3. Ad-hoc mode gameplay will also be supported through "adhoc party for PlayStation Portable" application on the PS3 system.

For Japan, the first "PSP Remaster" title to be introduced will be Monster Hunter Portable 3rd HD Ver. from Capcom Co., Ltd. Monster Hunter Portable 3rd for the PSP system is the latest installment of the blockbuster Monster Hunter franchise, which has alone shipped over 4.5 million units in Japan since its release in December 2010. The graphics of the PS3 version, including monsters, fields, equipment, as well as Felyne Comrades, are more gorgeous and vibrant than ever, and will deliver dynamic gameplay when played on the large TV screens. SCE, with strong support from software developers and publishers, will deploy various measures to enhance the software title line-up for the PS3 system.

SCE will continue to further expand the PS3 platform and create a new world of computer entertainment with innovative and exciting new titles."

I'm glad they decided to remake Monster Hunter Portable 3rd in Hi Def. It's easily the best one out. The new features have added a huge dynamic of gameplay. My favorite being the addition of the two Felyns to assist you in combat instead of the one from Monster Hunter Portable 2nd G. Also, the Felyn customization is pretty neat. I know they aren't game makers or breakers, but they are pretty nice to have around in a bad situation.

My sister went to Japan in April of 2011, and ended up going to Akiabara and picking me up the Japanese versions of both Monster Hunter Portable 2nd G and Monster Hunter Portable 3rd. I used my Custom FirmWare PSP 1001 (Original "Phat" PSP) to get English Patches for both games, which works surprisingly good. There are, however, a few non-translated parts that can make the game a little frustrating. I'm still in the middle of playing Monster Hunter Portable 3rd, but I'm extremely impressed with the game. Luckily, I get to play the game on my breaks at work, so that's just great. But of course, like everyone, there are times in the games where the 15 minute fights really make you wonder how your PSP is still in one piece, and not a million in  a blender.

I'm hoping that the new Monster Hunter game for the PS3 will have online support, or at least 2 players per console. The worst (and I suppose best) thing about the PSP version is having to be within a few of the people you're playing with. Granted, it's a good reason to go out and get lunch, or have a few drinks, or just get together, but it can be pretty inconvenient for a game that is more or less of a "pick up and go" game.

Another thing I'm hoping for is an official statement from Sony and Capcom announcing the the release of the North American versions at this years Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3). E3 is scheduled to happen this year on July 11th to July 13th, in Santa Monica California. Lets all hope this game makes an American release, so we don't have to mess around with all the exploits and imports and all that other crap that we hate.

Sunday, May 22, 2011

Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Deus Ex: Human Revolution
Eidos Montreal
Due August 21st, 2011
Xbox 360, PS3, Microsoft Windows
Single Player

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is fast approaching. Set to hit the shelves in North America on August 21st, 2011. As a fan of the Deus Ex series, and especially "Deus Ex: The Invisible War" (I know I'll get some flack for that) I'm very excited for the games release. The FPS-RPG genre has made a lot of headway in the last few years, with games like Mass Effect and Fallout 3

My personal copy of the Xbox version of Deus Ex: Invisible War

My first experience with the FPS-RPG genre was with the Xbox version of "Deus Ex: The Invisible War". Up until that point, I had barely played RPG's. The whole concept of branching paths, choices and consequences had barely been enlightened on me. It took me a few hours of solid game play to really get into it, but after I finally started to make sense of what I thought was going to be a simple RPG, I was hooked. Deus Ex: The Invisible Wars was indeed one of my favorite games I have ever played, and easily one of the best for the Xbox. 

Onlive Offer

So with all the hope one could have for sequels (Note: Theres a lot of disappointing them.), I'm happy to say that Onlive, the cloud based gaming "console" is having a promotional pre-order event. Right now, if you pre-order Deus Ex: Human Revolution through OnLive, you can get:

OnLive standard offer:
$44.99 ($60 value)
   - Deus Ex: Human Revolution
   - Deus Ex: Game of the year edition

And for just $9.00 more, you'll get:

OnLive augmented edition
$53.99 ($170 value)
   - Deus Ex: Human Revolution
   - The "Making Of" video
   - A motion comic book
   - An art book
   - The game sound track
   - The E3 trailer and animated storyboard
   - A FREE OnLive Micro Console  (Or you can redeem a game before May 25, 2011)

And for the next few weeks, Eidos has a page where you can Facebook "like" the game to unlock more assets for the game, when it is released. So read up, "like" the game, and I'll keep your eyes peeled for you for more offers and information on what could be a very great, reinvigorated franchise. 

Friday, May 20, 2011

Wrestling Great "Macho Man" Randy Savage Dies

I just got back from vacation and heard some terrible news on the radio today.

As many of you already know, the Wrestling Legend Randall Mario Poffo, well known under his wrestling alias "Macho Man" Randy Savage, died today in a car crash in Tampa, Florida. According to paramedics, he suffered a heart attack while driving, which then caused him to veer into oncoming traffic, then eventually hitting a tree.

My condolences goes out to the Poffo family, especially his wife, who was in the car during the accident. I hope she makes a speedy and full recovery.

Though Wrestling has come a long way, especially in the gaming industry, we've always kept a place in our hearts for the legends of old WWF fame.

Randy savage has large array of appearances in many WWF and Wrestlemania games, which span many consoles such as the Xbox, Sega, Play Station and Super Nintendo. My favorite being the classic WWF Super Wrestlemania for the Sega Genesis.

I've played this game probably more than any other I can think of. My childhood consisted of wrestling games (and Road Rash games). I loved them all. Every Friday after school, I went to the video store rental place to be the first to rent any of the new games that came out, which consisted of a lot of wrestling games. I couldn't wait to play a new one just to "Savage Elbow" the hell out of someone.

And of course, who could forget the famous "Slim Jim" commercials? Let us remember one of the greatest wrestlers in WWF history by watching this commercial.

Monday, May 16, 2011

Is Mass Effect 3's "Alternative" Romance Path Bad?

Mass Effect 3
Due Q1 of 2012
Xbox 360, PS3, Microsoft Windows
Single Player

Even though only a day has passed since it's been announced, a lot of people have voiced concern over the new option for Commander Sheppards love arcs. Many fans believe that this new "gay" Sheppard love arc will create inconsistencies and continuity errors within the game's canon.

Specifically, fans argue that because there were no "gay" options in the first two Mass Effect games, there shouldn't be any in the third. The games background stories, as well as dialogue choices in previous games have sculpted the relationships with the existing crew, relationships and friends. Many people are worried that, for the sake of just adding a new sexual experience (a la Dragon Age) that characters will make dramatic, sexually suggestive or aggressive stances in new dialogue options. 

Mass Effect 3

For the sake of curiosity, what are your opinions on this?

Saturday, May 14, 2011

Gaming, Technology and Computer Websites

- Great Canadian website for computer, gaming and even office supplies and accessories.
- Website dedicated to factory direct accessories and cables

Friday, May 13, 2011

New Modern Warfare 3 Trailer

Check out the new Call of Duty: Modern Warefare 3 American teaser trailer. The game is being developed by Sledgehammer Games, the newly reformed Infinity Ward, and Raven Software. and will be available on the Xbox 360, PS3, Wii and PC.

Hell, I'll admit it. I know they are all the same, but I still enjoy them. I'm looking forward to this game as well. The gameplay will be the same, of course. But really, is that a bad thing? As long as the story is interesting, and the multiplayer is crawling with thousands of angsty, racist 13 year olds who swear too much, I'll be fine.  

Monday, May 9, 2011

Xbox Update In The Works

The good folks at Joystiq have uncovered some very interesting news. Xbox plans on releasing an update around May 19th! It's great to see Microsoft pushing out new content. The dashboards tend to get a bit stale after a few months, so any change, for me, is usually welcome. 

Some of the content included in the new update is support for the new Xbox Disc Format., which is intended to be the new standard for Xbox Games in late 2011. The new update also enables Paypal for the Xbox, for those without credit cards. 

As well, on May 27th, the new Avatar Kinect will be released. This looks like it could be an interesting, and helpful update. With Netflix, Hulu, Facebook and Twitter now available on the Xbox, I wonder how long it will be until Xbox gives in and gets youtube support.

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Duke Nukem PC Requirements

Gearbox Software
2k Games
Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Realeases on June 14th, 2011

Like everyone, I've been waiting forever for Duke Nukem: Forever. Years of teasers have left me little more than pessimistic about its actual release. Thankfully, day by day, more info is coming to light and shedding the pessimism.

According to DESTRUCTOID, the requirement specs for Duke Nukem: Forever have been released. Though I already pre-ordered this game for Xbox 360, I'm considering buying it for the PC as well. Either way, I'm excited for the game to finally come out and to be able to play one of my favorite heroes again. I only hope that this game lives up to the classics.

Check out the specs and a wicked cover of Megadeth's "Grabbag" below. Don't forget to comment on your excitement (or disapproval) below.

Minimum Specifications

OS: Windows XP/Vista/7
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.0 Ghz / AMD Athlon 64 X2 @ 2.0 Ghz 2.0 Ghz
Memory: 1 Gb Hard Drive: 10 Gb free
Video Memory: 256 MB
Video Card: nVidia GeForce 7600/ ATI Radeon HD 2600
Sound Card: DirectX Compatible

Recommended Specifications

OS: Windows XP/Vista/7
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.4 Ghz / AMD Athlon 64 X2 @ 2.6 Ghz 2.6 Ghz
Memory: 2 Gb Hard Drive: 10 Gb free
Video Memory: 512 MB Video Card: nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS / ATI Radeon HD 3850
Sound Card: DirectX Compatible

Monday, May 2, 2011

New Kinect Core Shooter?

Rumor has it that Microsoft Studios in Vancouver is working on a "Core Kinect Shooter". Many fans have been wondering when Microsoft will release a game that will have a core appeal, instead of just general Wii-like games for casual players.

As for details on the game, they haven't been disclosed. I think with all the Kinect Hacks we've seen, everything from Super Mario, to The Sims, to World of Warcraft, it's safe to say that developers could make the future of Kinect a lot brighter.

As a Kinect owner, I am a little disappointed that all of the games that have been released to date are little more than novelty games and mini-games. I can see the potential in the device. As for the games, I will leave it up to the hackers to improve the future of the kinect. Lets hope that some of these hackers soon become developers and show them how to truly unlock some of that kinect power.

What games (genre, spin-offs, or sequels) would you like to see on the Kinect? I would personally like to see  (of course) some FPS games, or some beat-em-ups. Maybe even a casual RPG. There's a million ideas out there, and I'd like to hear some.

Friday, April 29, 2011


Have a large game library? Tired of wondering if you have a game or not? Want to show off your games and achievements to your friends? Raptr solves all of those!

Raptr is a service that allows you to list all of your games, on all of your consoles, track all of your achievements and compare those with your friends! The great thing about this site, compared to others in the same genre, is the ability to automatically update your scores, stats and friends lists. 

I hope you guys find this website as useful as I do. 

Thursday, April 28, 2011

About Time I Got This Together

Welcome to GR², the Green Ring Game Review! I finally found the time to start up a blog to document anything and everything regarding games, with a focus towards xbox 360. I do prefer the 360, but the PS3 is definitely not without it's charm.

On this blog I'll be covering anything from new and upcoming releases, upcoming hardware and software, updates, game reviews and experiences, and whatever else may come across as interesting gaming news for any and all consoles, including PC. I'll also be recommending games, websites, communities and forums that may either help or augment your gaming experience.

I hope whoever is reading this will enjoy my posts. Don't forget to share with your friends and follow my blog!